Tracker Off Topic: farewell, Brett Favre

Brett Lorenzo Favre, the Gunslinger, the Iron Man, the Last American Hero, and everyone’s FAVoRitE quarterback, retired on March 4.

If you’re a fan of The Game, you’re a little sad this week. You know this day had to come. As Favre said today, all good things must come to an end. But after Green Bay lost to the Giants in the NFC Championship game, you knew Brett would be back one more season.

But it wasn’t meant to be. The man is tired.

I listened to his press conference today (available here). Below are a few quotes I found interesting (courtesy Green Bay Press-Gazette):

About God:

God has blessed me with so many great things. Ability, wonderful family. And as I was flying up here today I thought about so many different things and how I wanted to say some of the things that I felt like I need to say, but he gave me an opportunity to use my abilities, and I seized that opportunity … I thank him for that.

About stress:

But this year, and this is not the first year but it really to me and Deanna was more noticeable, the stress part of it. It’s demanding. It always has been, but I think as I’ve gotten older I’m much more aware of that. I’m much more aware of how hard it is to win in this league and to play at a high level. I’m not up to the challenge anymore. I can play, but I’m not up to the challenge. You can’t just show up and play for three hours on Sunday. If you could, there’d be a lot more people doing it and they’d be doing it for a lot longer.

An eye-opening statement about the No Fun League:

… after numerous games I would come home and after a couple of hours I had the computer out and I was watching film of the upcoming opponent instead of enjoying the win we just had. At some point, you’ve got to relax and enjoy and I found myself not enjoying it as much. It’s fun to win but you’ve got to enjoy it and relax a little bit. That more than anything was taking its toll on me.

Another eye-opener … and I believe him 100 percent:

… I can recite almost every play I’ve ever ran, called, think about near every game I’ve played in, and that’s going back to high school.

About what it’s like for famous people who die:

… I was watching at home last night, I actually broke down and watched some of the footage. How could you not? I realize what it’s like to die. As I’m watching TV last night, I said, ‘This is what it’s like when you die.’ They’re honoring me and saying all these things and showing all these games.

About how hard it is being Brett Favre:

I had so many people saying, ‘You look like you had a lot of fun out there this year,’ and I did. But what they don’t see, that’s three hours during the course of a week and I’m no different than most people. I can act the part and I know I expect a lot out of myself and certain things are expected of me within this organization and I tried to live up to those all the time. And Brett Favre got hard to live up to. And I found myself during games at times, tough situation, people always kind of made this joke or other guys on the team, even Mike at times would turn to me and say, ‘All right Brett. This is where you’re at your best. Pull us out.’ I’m thinking, ‘Uh! … ‘ Now I wouldn’t do that, but I’m thinking that. I’m thinking, ‘Boy it sure would be nice to be up about 14 right now.’ It’s just hard. It got hard. I did it, but it got hard.

And finally, Brett Favre on why we love Brett Favre:

Well, I think, I’m probably the wrong person to ask that. But if I had to guess I would say, and I hear this from time to time, he’s like one of us. Well, I am. I just play professional football.

I’ll consider sharing a story about how Brett Favre influenced a significant personal decision.

Enjoy your retirement, Mr. Favre. After 275 consecutive starts in the National Football League, you’ve earned it.

Some of you old-timers may remember the guy who briefly stirred the hopes of Packer Nation before Favre took over. Here’s a great article about the Majik Man.

Leave a Reply

