Yes, Vince Young thought about retiring

Last November, I speculated that Vince Young might be thinking about retiring. He seemed to me to be the type of person who places a lot of pressure on himself and who might not want to deal with the added pressure from unreasonable fans. There were whispers that Vince’s formerly incarcerated father was back in his life and this was another source of stress for the quarterback.

In a recent article, Vince Young admitted that he thought of retiring after his rookie season with the Titans.

“I really thought long and hard about it,” Young said on Thursday after practice. “There was so much going on with my family. It was crazy being an NFL quarterback. It wasn’t fun anymore. All of the fun was out of it. All of the excitement was gone. All I was doing was worrying about things.

Well, in the macho sports kingdom, such revelations only invite criticism. Who cares about Vince Young’s feelings? He’s a millionaire athlete, right? Shut up and play!

This is not how I see things.

If I had so-called fans calling me stupid because of my Wonderlic score, critics saying that I can’t read defenses (which is code for “he’s a black quarterback who likes to run first and can’t play the position well”) and insensitive sportswriters criticizing my every move, along with family members and acquaintances coming out of the woodwork because I’m a new millionaire, I might decide the money isn’t worth it and move on.

Nevertheless, I still expect great things out of Vince Young. He will help the Titans win at least one Super Bowl … and retire after playing ten seasons.

Leave a Reply

