Why you should read Titans blogs

CHICAGO - NOVEMBER 09:  A Tennessee Titans helmet sits on the field against the Chicago Bears at Soldier Field on November 9, 2008 in Chicago, Illinois.  (Photo by Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images)

http://view.picapp.com//JavaScripts/OTIjs.jsWriting something as incendiary as yesterday’s critique of Jeff Fisher makes me a little uncomfortable. I wonder if getting as emotionally involved with the Titans and this blog as I do is worth the time, effort, backlash, passion, headaches, and exposing my professional reputation to risk.

With this in mind, I feel that I have something to contribute to the larger conversation about the Tennessee Titans. I’ve been a fan of this franchise since 1978, and I enjoy writing. Titans Tracker is far from being the most popular blog about the Titans, but it’s a labor of love, and, for the time being, I press on.

While watching Kerry Collins warm up on the sidelines during the Steelers game, I had a sick feeling… a sense that something terribly wrong was happening.

It’s good to know I’m not the only one who had that sick feeling. It’s also easy to feel isolated when reading articles by most Nashville-based sports writers, who, from all appearances, view Jeff Fisher as sacrosanct — not to be questioned or criticized under any circumstances.

The fact that NO ONE in the local media will show some outrage over [Jeff Fisher’s decision] is the biggest argument for sports blogs you’ll ever see. – August West

Music City Miracles is far and away the most popular Titans fan website. MCM is an open community, and thus has a much larger readership than Titans Tracker (my comment policy doesn’t exactly encourage a lot of interaction, but it’s the price you pay for being true to yourself).  Jimmy and August West have strongly criticized coach Jeff Fisher’s decision to bench Vince Young.

Total Titans is a three-man effort. Today, Tom Gower analyzed every Titans passing play in the Steelers game to determine if Fisher’s decision to bench Young was warranted. Tom’s conclusion? VY was not necessarily the biggest culprit in the loss.

Those of you who visit Titans Tracker regularly know what I think.

Keep reading Titans blogs.

