Titans fans are stuck with Young and Fisher

NASHVILLE, TN - 2008:  Bud Adams of the Tennessee Titans poses for his 2008 NFL headshot at photo day in Nashville, Tennessee.  (Photo by Getty Images)

http://view.picapp.com//JavaScripts/OTIjs.jsStop the presses. The boss man has spoken. And no one’s getting fired, or cut, any time soon.

In the aftermath of VY Meltdown II, Titans owner Bud Adams addressed the status of quarterback Vince Young and head coach Jeff Fisher.

Much to the dissatisfaction of fans outraged by Young’s behavior after the Titans loss to the Washington Redskins, Adams sounded more like Rodney King than Donald Trump.

Jim Wyatt of the Tennessean reports that Adams spoke with Fisher, Young, and General Manager Mike Reinfeldt, and concluded that Sunday’s drama was no more than a lover’s quarrel that will have no long-lasting impact.

Adams said, “They are going to have to work together. I haven’t given up on Vince, and I am sure Fisher hasn’t either.”

I would love to hear Fisher quoted on that.

When asked about Fisher and Young’s future with the team, Adams said, “They are under contract. That is why you have contract.”

Unless Adams has a change of heart in January, both Fisher and Young will be Tennessee Titans in 2011.

When I finished reading Wyatt’s story, and realized this bad relationship is not going to end anytime soon, all I could do was laugh.

“We’ve had some fun
And yes we’ve had some ups and downs
Been down that rocky road
But here we are, still around”

Huey Lewis and the News, “Stuck With You”

Expect the unexpected

After writing yesterday’s game recap, I told myself to wait until after the Titans’ Monday press conference before saying anything else about Young and Fisher. I imagined writing a lengthy, two-part series with a headline similar to Jimmy’s of Music City Miracles: “Both Fisher and Young must go.”

After reading Adams’ quotes, I have learned:

1. Adams has become more serious about honoring contracts as he’s gotten older
2. As long as Adams is alive and competent, Vince Young will play for the Titans
3. Jeff Fisher has 18 lives
4. Today, Vince Young is the luckiest man on the face of the earth

Crow does not taste like chicken

Those of you who have read Titans Tracker know I have defended Vince Young through thick and thin, and that my opinion of  Jeff Fisher changed in 2009.

Today, I’m in the unenviable position of agreeing with the assessments of Young’s most persistent critics, “the two PKs” — Peter King and Paul Kuharsky.

After Sunday’s meltdown, I will no longer defend Vince Young. I’ve shed myself of the burnt-orange colored glasses permanently.

Note I didn’t say I won’t support him. I support every player who suits up for Tennessee and steps between the white lines.

But enough is enough.

I understand it must be miserable to play for a coach who you believe doesn’t have your back. But he’s still your boss.

However, if you’re a team captain, you do your best to exhibit leadership and poise. If you have an issue with your coach, deal with him man-to-man in a private place, not in the locker room after a loss.

Young has made significant progress as a player, but he has a long way to go as a leader. How many times can he alienate his teammates and expect forgiveness?

I live in Texas. Should I switch allegiances and become a Cowboys fan, or a Texans fan?

Never. All I can do, as a Titans fan, is accept what is — Adams, Fisher, and Young — and hope for the best.

Go Titans!

Leave a Reply

